What to say when someone asks you: “Should I do a PhD?”

Consider your thought process when you first decided to enrol in a research degree. Did you know what you were getting into? I certainly didn’t – and although I am enjoying the process and the new skills I am developing, I wish I had researched what exactly I was signing up for in the first place. The Thesis Whisperer has become one of my “legitimate uses for break time”, and I think this post offered some insight into exactly what we’re asking of ourselves for our research degrees.

The Thesis Whisperer

“Do you think I should do a PhD?”

It seems like I can’t go to a party without at least one person asking me this question – does this happen to you too? I probably shouldn’t be surprised; according to a recent government report the number of people undertaking a research degree in Australia has increased by 41%  over the last 10 or so years.

There’s no doubt that some students start without realistic expectations of the amount of work that is involved and how it may affect their life, which is why I was pleased when Dr Ehsan Gharaie, a lecturer in the school of property Construction and project management at RMIT, sent me this guest post.

As a recent PhD graduate in a field which is relatively new to this form of education, Ehsan tells me that he is often approached by people who ask him

View original post 792 more words

Leave a Reply

